Why “Everything is going to be alright”

Everything is going to be alright, Martin Creed
Everything is going to be alright, Martin Creed, Clapton Portico, 1999

 Years ago this installation by Martin Creed appeared on the front of the former orphan asylum in Clapton, east London. I love the simplicity of the message, and it has never failed to reassure or cheer me up. One evening when I was feeling more positive than I have for a while I decided to re-christen my blog Everything is going to be alright in the hope that it will be.

On some level Creed is probably being ironic of course, but I’m going to stick with the un-ironic interpretation.

Everything is going to be alright has since appeared in galleries worldwide, including Tate Britain, the Palazzo dell’Arengario, Milan and the Museum of Contemporary Art in Detroit.

Fantastic, however you choose to read it.

Leave a Reply

